Home Services Public Works

Public Works

The Town of Digby Public Works Department is run out of a modern facility built in 1996 at 68 Sydney Street, and is equipped with modern equipment and trucks necessary to fulfill it's responsibilities. The Public Works Department staff consists of a Director of Public Works, Foreman, STP Operator, as well as operators/labourers, who are responsible for the planning, operations and maintenance of the Town's streets, sidewalks, snow and ice removal, sewers, storm drainage, equipment, buildings, parks and grounds, and the Water Utility.

For after hours Public Works emergencies dial (902)245-8173

Ed McCormick
Director of Public Works - 902-245-4683
Public Works Dept - 902-245-5906
Monday - Friday : 8:30 - 4:30Water Commission Department - 902-245-4769


public worksThe Digby Water Commission is a Town-owned utility serving the residents of Digby, the surrounding areas of Mount Pleasant, Lighthouse Road, Belaire Drive, Pleasant Street, and Hillcrest. The members of the Commission consist of the Mayor, one Councillor, and five members of the public. Staff members are the Director of Public Works, Utility Clerk, Deputy Clerk and the Town Clerk. Eight drilled wells supply the utility, Vantasell Lake provides a backup water supply for large demands on the system, such as fire fighting. Water testing is performed on a regular basis, conforming to the Canadian Drinking Water Quality Guidelines. Billing and administration for the utility is located in the Town Office. Water bills are issued every two months.

Contact the Utility Clerk for more information 245-4769.